Posted by: lindapemik | November 14, 2010

a new kind of DNA for teachers

I’m sharing an interesting commentary by an American educator, Greg Whitby, Executive Director of Schools, Catholic Diocese of Parramatta.

He writes, “we’re not advocating burning books in favour of computers. It’s about striking the right balance. We cannot ignore the potential of Web 2.0 in creating powerful learning networks for exchanging ideas, knowledge. Abe Lincoln used the technology of his time: books and quills. I’m sure that wouldn’t be the case if he were alive today.”

I have also read and heard from many of my classmates about their day to day struggles with school boards, administrators, fellow teachers, parents and students as they try to implement new ways of teaching and learning in their schools and colleges.  They have also described the innovations and exciting teaching moments that they have had this fall as they continue to implement “the technologies of their time” in their work.  In spite of the challenges I am quite sure that they have no intention of giving up on their attempts to bring about change in their schools, workplaces and classrooms and I salute them.  I want the world to know what a great group they are and how inspiring this learning experience has been for me.

Responses

  1. We really do need to support each other in this movement – these new media and technologies are not going away. We’re not going to be less connected. And it will be through networking like this, pressure in numbers – perhaps a tipping point, that the change will come.

  2. I agree Linda. I think that we need to strike a balance and that it is our job to find what that balance is and to push our admin/boards/colleagues to help us achieve that balance. I also believe that the balance looks different depending on the age of our students…

    • Hi Jamie and thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. You are right there is no on size fits all answer, whatever tools we use have to fit the context and be wisely chosen; age is definitely a consideration.


Categories

