Posted by: lindapemik | February 28, 2013

Bringing digital literacies into focus

Like many of my #etmooc colleagues I am suffering from an excess of information. I have been gorging myself on blogs, and twitter feeds; following interesting links, watching YouTube videos, seeing and hearing stories about what it means to be literate in a digital world. As I struggled to get my head around producing my first digital story, Laura Hilliger commented to me that “learning to tell digital stories is like learning the language of the web”. Her comment stimulated a shift in my thinking. It caused me to think differently about digital stories and about the various media used to convey thoughts and ideas on the Web 2.0. I realized that I need to work on learning this new language–this language of the web. And I want to be fully literate, fluent!

Laura also said that “communication in the online world is not quite like anything else”. I began to ask myself: “How is it different? and what is the significance of those differences? I started looking at videos and digital images through a different lens. I noticed how images play such an important part in getting your written messages across in blogs and websites; the infographics that caught my attention, the videos and digital stories. Somehow these images are more than just pictures inserted to entertain or amuse-they are a key element in the language of the web. To be truly digitally literate you have to learn how to “speak” the language of images. Move from the film strip projector, once so common in classrooms to making movies with your students, helping them tell their own stories; move from a watcher to a co-producer

photo

Categories

