Posted by: lindapemik | October 3, 2013

Getting Unstuck with Appreciative Inquiry

Stuck_ATVThis has always been a blog about learning –my own learning and how to better facilitate learning for others, with a definite ICT focus.  Like many new bloggers I wondered about the value of my posts.  What could I possibly add to the wealth of information available on the Web?  Much to my surprise I found that I had developed a following!  And I enjoyed blogging.  It brought my love of learning and my love of writing together.  But something happened.   I can’t pinpoint when it happened or exactly how it happened, but I lost my enthusiasm for learning and leading for a while.  Without my usual enthusiasm I couldn’t write.     Like Joan McArthur-Blair who writes in her book, Appreciative Inquiry in Higher Education:  A Transformative Force, “there was a shift in my leadership.  It felt like loss of hope; despair….at work I had begun to lose the very meaning of what I was doing and why.”  A sad state of affairs indeed!

But by applying Appreciative Inquiry in my own life and asking myself some positive questions I have rediscovered what compels me to remain in the Higher Education world and have renewed my enthusiasm for learning.  Like Joan I believe that access to education is the most powerful force for social good in communities.  And that is why I do what I do and why I think community colleges are so important across Canada.

But, this blog is going to take a twist…I am going to use it as a tool to document my growth as a digital story teller.  I will continue to bring my learning out in the open and share ideas, resources, tools and stories as I grow, but with a focus on digital storytelling. Digital storytelling brings my love of storytelling and promoting positive personal and social change together with my growing interest in how social media is changing communication and education.  DS is also a great way to help students and faculty find their “voice” and use technology  to tell stories in powerful ways. The digital camera, editing software, and media outlets means that anyone can tell their story. Not only can they tell their story, but share a curricular concept, help in staff development, or create publicity for the school. With all of this capacity to create powerful stories, we need to remember what makes great stories for audiences. We should think about how story telling helps students learn.

Responses

  1. Interesting how we both have moved into digital storytelling over the years.
    I use youtube MrPaulnicholas channel


Categories

