Posted by: lindapemik | October 12, 2013

Practice, practice, practice!

ImageI am on a quest as you know to become a digital citizen, a connected educator.  I am loving the journey but drowning in deep waters again.  There is just so darned much “stuff”  on the Web.  I decided to focus on digital story telling, got a little confused as to just what ds is—the conventional definition describes it as a personal story told using video, but I want it to be more..what I really want to do is to learn to use Web 2.0 tools to tell stories, to  inform and engage people. If decided my ds can be what I want it to be.   Cogdog again to the rescue  with his wiki on storytelling web tools.

DS challenges us to learn to communicate visually.  Many of my web buddies are talking about the visual and the need to make our texts more visual.  (for a lot of reasons, including the fact that pictures and graphics engage the whole brain and facilitate learning).  Visual note taking and visual facilitation are a growing phenomenon.  So of course I had to download a few books and apps about that.  The Sketchnote Handbook by Mike Rohde, the Graphic Facilitator’s Guide by Brandy Agerbeck.  Yikes I haven’t even finished reading Lambert’s Digital Storytelling.  LINDA, stop the insanity.  Take it one step, one book,  at a time! More skills to be learned someday.

I did start playing around in ds106, even though I feel like a total imposter—thought I would ease myself into the course by doing the daily create.  Wrote a haiku for October 10, birthday of my first born, visually murdered a moose and drew a picture of what the internet looks like.  I can feel the creative juices starting to flow, coming out of a deep freeze.  Why do our workplaces smother creativity?  a discussion for another post.  Had to reactivate my flickr account but still don’t know exactly how to connect with other ds106’ers there.  Tried another daily create but bogged down in Audacity trying to convert Mp4 files to Mp3 so I could upload an audio file to Blabberize.  I really want to see my bird sing,” I love the Radio” by Taffy!  All in good time.  I will go back to it and make it sing.

Memo to Self:  Just as I won’t get skinny by wishing I was, I won’t become skillful in using Web 2.0 tools by thinking about it.  There is no substitute for practice, practice practice.  As much as I love the research and curating of resources,  I think I will stop and dig into the feast of new ideas.  Check out my diigo library if you want to share in my feast.

Image

Categories

